WOMEN WAKE UP CALL

What an eye opener on what is happening regarding Planned Parenthood http://www.plannedparenthood.org/ ! I remember marching in the streets for free choice. It looks like the sisterhood might be marching to get health care services.

Anyway, I wanted to be able to direct others to an important article in The New Yorker, this week (November 14 issue – http://www.newyorker.com/reporting/2011/11/14/111114fa_fact_lepore ) as well as Jill Lepore’s interview on Fresh Air with Terry Gross ( http://www.npr.org/2011/11/09/142097521/how-birth-control-and-abortion-became-politicized ). I am also including my letter to The Editor of The New Yorker.

However way I can assist to get this information out to others then I have found out the way of my blog.

Oh by the way, I did finally pick up a book called WordPress for Dummies. Wish me luck as I might finally have time to learn on how to get my blog to look.

~ Sunshine Laughing

To the Editor, The New Yorker –

Am I the only one who saw the irony with Jill Lepore, professor of American History at Harvard University, article on BIRTHRIGHT in the November 14 issue, publishing within the same week as the U.S. Census Bureau released poverty numbers, about 46.2 million people are now considered in poverty, 2.6 million more than last year?

Numbers come into a lot of meaning for me, regarding the BIRTHRIGHT article, such as; There are 435 House of Representatives (76 women, 362 men, & 3 vacancies), or the breakdown of 100 Senators (17 women & 83 men).

I can even look at Age and Sex Composition: 2010 ( source http://2010.census.gov/news/releases/operations/cb11-cn147.html ), the median age of Americans is now 37.2, with seven states recording a median age of 40 or older. The brief also shows the male population grew 9.9 percent between 2000 and 2010, while the female population grew 9.5 percent. Of the total 2010 Census population, 157.0 million people were female (50.8 percent) and 151.8 million were male (49.2 percent). Women are becoming the majority. So let us women get more vocal!

Currently, I see 362 possible men who feel an overriding need to interfere and step into my uterus. If, heaven forbid, I have a growing cancerous tumor in my uterus or any part of my reproductive organs, then it is my responsibility to figure out how to get it medically removed. Which chances were I was at the poverty level and had no medical insurance, I would go to Planned Parenthood for diagnosis, assistance, and a female support group to help me cope with such a life threatening disease.

Who are these persons following the lead of Republicans trying to take down Planned Parenthood, anyways? Why should their envy override my right to privacy and reproductive organs? Yes, I said envy. Due to men being the majority in Congress and not having what I have, eggs, ovaries and a uterus to carry a baby, who gave them the right to interfere in the decisions I make with my organs? I don’t walk around telling them where not to stick their reproductive organs. Only where they are sticking their nose and that is to keep it out of my organ decisions.

Plus, as long as there are stingy Americans who do not want health coverage to be affordable for not just women, but everyone, then it is like a statement my father told me growing up, “When you start paying your own rent, you can make any rules you want under your own roof. Meanwhile, I’m paying and I make the rules.” Well, my body is my house. I pay the bills to cover it, insure it and feed it. Leave me and my health service provider alone.

******

Stay in touch and keep Laughing at the Sun 🙂

Leave a Reply

